Acceleration

I crawled along I-95 from Sunrise in Fort Lauderdale towards Dania Beach.  Why do I take 95?  I hate 95.  When I first moved here to South Florida, I had panic attacks for the first time in my life in the process of learning how to drive on 95.  It might have even been the reason God started calling me into the prophetic, after I discovered my intercessory prayer gift while driving.  I wish I could say that prayer was what was coming out of my mouth while I was driving tonight, but that’d be a lie.  I’m sure I was exhorting… somebody.  Sort of.

It took an hour to go the distance of what would typically take 10 minutes.  I found myself praying prophetically though, right before I reached my destination, and what I heard myself saying was this:  “Don’t get upset over what happens.  Don’t get offended.  And keep your mouth shut.”

This was strange because I typically don’t get offended.  And I typically don’t give people a piece of my mind.  I am usually reserved, and I don’t speak out about stuff that bugs me.  But I knew the Holy Spirit was just preparing me for whatever it was.  I am laughing about it now, because He was right on the money, and I didn’t heed any of that advice the Spirit was giving me.  By the time I got seated, I had already given several people a piece of my mind over the parking situation which I felt was inappropriate and ill-prepared.  I ended up having to humble myself and apologize later, of course.  I really am an idiot sometimes.

I detailed the events of the meeting in another blog article here, but I wanted to write a special entry about what was going on with me on the inside during this meeting.  First off, I found it significant that the enemy fought me so hard this evening.  The traffic was a nightmare.  I avoided several fender benders on the way, and my nerves were just shot when I finally arrived.

The enemy also attacked me with terror in the darkness when I had to park in a dark, unlit parking lot in a sketchy party of town and had to walk to get to the meeting.  There was some overgrowth of trees and bushes around the parking lot too that was just the perfect place for someone to hide out to rob someone.

Several other nitpicky things happened that triggered my underlying sense of security and need for justice and “right,” and by the time I was finally seated, I was ready for God to just smite everybody.  When the worship started, I didn’t like the worship leader.  When the prophet looked around, I kept hearing, “He’s a fake.  Why are all these people here?  He isn’t anointed anymore.”  When the worship went on too long, I got irritated.  I got irritated at the woman I was sitting next to because she kept looking around and raising her hand to let people know there was a seat next to her open.  I wanted to keep my purse there.  How dare she!  I was completely ignoring how warm and welcoming she had been.

I’m laughing out loud now as I write this.  The enemy was having a field day with my brain, obviously.  At one point, I almost walked out of the meeting.

That’s when it dawned on me.

The enemy does not want me at this meeting, so that means something really good is going to happen.  I just shook my head as the light bulb came on and sank into my seat, daring the enemy to keep it up.  I was in it for the long haul.

That’s when the emotional dam broke.  I felt the Spirit of God come over me warmly, welcoming me and taking all the stress from me.  I almost broke into a sob of gratitude as an ocean of breakthrough in the Spirit just rolled over me in waves.  I stayed right there, focusing on that spiritual transaction when I saw a vision.

I was walking through a long, lit hallway.  There was a door, and I opened it and walked through.  I went a few steps, and there was another door.  I walked through that one as well.  I went through several doors, and then the walls became hands.  Many hands were touching me, my arms, my legs.  ONE hand reached out for me and pulled me out of the many hands to Himself.  I know it was the Lord.

Acceleration,” I heard.

Published by

Urban Seer

Who I Am I am a 42-year-old living in the heart of urban South Florida. I work and live on an inner-city campus with 150 men who have committed at least a year of their lives to deal with an alcohol and/or drug addiction. At an early age, I had overwhelming, realistic dreams. These dreams resurfaced in my mid-20s. Off and on I struggled with this, not understanding how it fit into God’s plan for me. This was the case until I was finally convinced to read Blake Healy’s book, “The Veil.” Healy’s experiences mirrored mine in many ways, and I was introduced to the idea that this could be a blessing. This transparent journal is simply a chronicle of my journey in learning how to hear from the Lord with new ears, see with new eyes, how to operate prophetically in this surrounding urban culture, and how I am being mentored by the Holy Spirit in all of this. Current Focus: Learning how to unify people in love and lead strategically. Current Study: The Book of Acts. Current Ministry: Full-time ministry, counseling, worship leader, prophet, and intercessor.

Leave a comment