The House Dream

I had a very powerful dream last night.  I am going to break it up into dream and then interpretation for each section.  At the end, I will go over the revelations and confirmations that I took away from this dream.  I fell asleep in the arms of the Lord at 4:44 a.m. and had the following dream:

I dreamed that I wanted to buy this new house that was really small.  My parents helped with a downpayment.  It was out in the country, in Prichard (where I lived in my formative years).  It was beautiful on the outside and surrounded by a little garden.  It was secret.  Just mine!   

Interpretation:  The house is my spiritual life with the Lord.  When I was born again, my parents helped me get started.  In fact, I was born again while growing up in a loving family in my formative years in Prichard.  We lived in a small house just like the one in my dream, except the one in my dream was a glorified, much more beautiful version of my childhood home.  This walk with the Lord all these years has been secret – just mine, all mine.   

There were problems in the house.  I had to fix them.  Water leaks, toilet messes.  Things were broken.  When I went through the house the first time – it was with a woman – she told me, “Oh!  This is going to be fine!  We’ll fix this… oh and this over here!  We’ll fix that too.”  She gave me one of those little floor vacuum robots that you turn on, and it silently goes from room to room, vacuuming.  But nothing was getting fixed.

Interpretation:  There have been problems in my walk with the Lord.  It’s a beautiful walk, to be sure, but there are things that need to be fixed, namely, in different “rooms” or areas.  I interpret the woman to be the mother of the first half of my Christian walk, assuring me that everything will be fine and fixed as the “basic” Christian answer to everything.  Just believe or just have faith, and everything will be fine.  Just go to church.  Just pray.  Just tithe.  Etc. The stuff we feed ourselves on in our Christian formative years, or the milk of the Word of God.  I find it interesting that the tool she gave me to fix everything was a little vacuum cleaner.  “Just confess and repent.  That will fix everything.  Keep the foundation clean!”  These things are supposed to make everything ok.  But no serious issue is ever just miraculously fixed because of these oversimplistic answers. 

Then, another man came in.  They were all calling him “Prophet.”  He went around to fix it.  He kept saying, “Oh, this didn’t get fixed, but I will fix it.  I can fix this!”  As a matter of fact, he started going around and seeing that I was starting to come up with solutions to the issues, and he was approving of them.  But he wasn’t fixing them either.  I started going around myself and trying to fix the issues.  I just strapped on a tool belt and tried to give it a go, and what do you know?  Things were starting to get fixed.  I was going to wait on Prophet, because I was sure he could fix it, but really, I was able to fix all of it.

Interpretation:  This man represents the second half of my Christian walk.  This second half began when I was baptized in the Holy Spirit, and I began to attend charismatic churches.  My eyes were opened to the supernatural realm.  I had faith that these issues would finally get fixed by the second man, Prophet, but I had waited so long for these things to be fixed that I had started fixing them with supernatural knowledge from the Holy Spirit.  

People began giving Prophet the credit for fixing everything.  It was so odd.  And I didn’t even care that he was receiving the credit.  But I had fixed the things that needed to be fixed myself.

Interpretation:  Things are shifting right now in my Christian life, and have been over the last year and even the last couple of years during the time of isolation in ministry, and I am relying on solutions I have received directly from the Holy Spirit rather than relying on people, good preaching, oversimplified Bible verses, and other things like that.

In this dream, I was also making sure that everyone had their own room, and everyone was in their own space.  The rooms were assigned to each as appropriate, and I was placing each group or person there.  One was a big group of Vikings!  There was a widescreen monitor up in the corner, and I had put a picture of the Vikings sitting, eating their food and drinking their ale, celebrating whatever pillaging they had just undertaken.  But they were in the Viking room.

Interpretation:  This represents my recent calling into the ministry of the prophetic office where I naturally gravitate towards releasing people into their callings, and seeing people in certain offices and giftings in the body of Christ.  The visualization of the Vikings was so unique and specialized – something I could relate to as having a completely separate culture, décor, livelihood, purpose, celebration, and heritage.  Each calling in the body has its own culture, its own boundaries, its own goals, etc.  I will become intimately familiar with each, and they will be as distinct as… well… Vikings!

My son, little JD, even had his own room.  I made sure he had his own space.  And there in his room, he had his very own mantle.  It was made of gold and white marble, and it was an extremely rare valuable.

Interpretation:  When I later listened to my dream on the voice recorder, a lump welled up in my throat to think that John David had his own mantle, but this is true.  I have forgotten how many times the Lord has used JD to prophesy in his childhood.  His gift is rare, precious, valuable.  And he has a mantle over his life too.   I love that the Lord included this in the dream.  He knows that I am seeking for more confirmation and answers for my little son who has such a special difference about him.  It is just like Him to be patient with me and provide it. 

The house had adjoining yards to other houses with other yards.  They began to notice the activity – that someone was moving in.  One man looked a little older than me and had round glasses – I’m thinking he was James Goll, but I could be wrong.  He nodded once, looking at the house and who was moving in, and he said, “Good!  That’s good.  That’s just who needs to move in there.”  I got the distinct impression that I was being sniffed out to determine whether or not I was worthy to live in the neighborhood.

They had been walking through the yard while the house was vacant.  They were used to cutting through the yard here and there, kids walking to the school bus stop, them going out to the street to the mailbox.  But now they were walking around the boundaries, realizing someone was moving in, living there now.  I remember there were two other neighbors, a lady named Joy and also a middle-aged man who had longer hair.  He was an easygoing dude.

Interpretation:  I had a mother in the first half of my Christian life, the teachings of the church who nurtured me on the milk of the Word of God.  I had a Prophet the second half of my Christian life that birthed within me a desire to reach for an experiential Christianity and personally know the voice of God.  But I have discovered that there remains another portion of my life, so perhaps it’s more accurate to say my Christian walk is divided into thirds instead of two halves.  I mean, I sure do hope I’ll live at least another 20 years or so! I will also be mentored in this next phase of my walk by joy, peace, and wisdom in the apostolic government of the church.  Those forerunners in the new apostolic reformation welcome me into the “neighborhood,” and we each have our respected boundaries.  In each “yard” is a secret place, a “garden,” and a life or a “house” that is in varying degrees of upkeep. 

Revelations:

  1. We must be reassured that JD has a special revelatory gift and mandate on his life.  We were not wrong when we heard the Lord to conceive and have a son.  God is doing something amazing and powerful in him.  We must not doubt, no matter what we see.
  2. I must trust the revelation I am receiving from the Holy Spirit and not rely too heavily on the voices of the superstars of the faith that I’ve been researching.  I must get fresh, rhema Word from God directly for my sustenance, to fix my problems, and to walk this thing out.  They are no more qualified than me to receive revelation, and there is a region, an area, a body that I have been called to just like they have been called.  We have our boundaries and our giftings, and we each have our lives that we must tend to.  I cannot borrow from theirs, and they cannot try to extend over into mine.  They are simply there to confirm that I’m doing things appropriately.
  3. I should not be offended when people who do not understand the apostolic reformation try to label me as a “Word of Faith” prophet or any other kind of person.  The credit is not important.  I should not try to change the perception or argue with these people.  Some of them have not been called into reformation.
  4. Be careful not to be too disparaging against the legalistic folks who major on the milk of the Word of God.  It served as a mother to me, a foundation for what the Lord would later build upon.  More care and consideration is needed here.  It is true:  I still need a vacuum.

Confirmations:

  1. This dream is a confirmation of the apostolic governmental reformation.  Lately, I have been researching some different voices that have risen up against this reformation.  I feel this dream is God’s way of confirming for me that He is in this reformation.  It can be trusted.  I am on the right track, and I am part of this reformation.  I asked two nights ago for a confirmation regarding this very thing.  This is a green light.  This is very important to me.
  2. This is a confirmation for me that I am called to the office of prophet, to set people in the body and help them find their place.  Each person will belong to a group and will have a separate culture, need to know how to relate to others in their own culture and those in differing cultures. I will help with that.

Published by

Urban Seer

Who I Am I am a 42-year-old living in the heart of urban South Florida. I work and live on an inner-city campus with 150 men who have committed at least a year of their lives to deal with an alcohol and/or drug addiction. At an early age, I had overwhelming, realistic dreams. These dreams resurfaced in my mid-20s. Off and on I struggled with this, not understanding how it fit into God’s plan for me. This was the case until I was finally convinced to read Blake Healy’s book, “The Veil.” Healy’s experiences mirrored mine in many ways, and I was introduced to the idea that this could be a blessing. This transparent journal is simply a chronicle of my journey in learning how to hear from the Lord with new ears, see with new eyes, how to operate prophetically in this surrounding urban culture, and how I am being mentored by the Holy Spirit in all of this. Current Focus: Learning how to unify people in love and lead strategically. Current Study: The Book of Acts. Current Ministry: Full-time ministry, counseling, worship leader, prophet, and intercessor.

Leave a comment