Key to the Key?

I came to a realization this morning that smacked me in the forehead.

I have been wondering if I have officially moved into the Office of Prophet rather than prophetic ministry by itself. According to someone I dearly respect, I would not be moving into the office officially until hands have been laid on me by another apostle or prophet, declaring that I am a prophet.

To be clear, a fair number of apostles and prophets have laid their hands on me at various times, including the following: Kenneth Hagin Sr., Chuck Lawrence, Kevin West, Darrell Huffman, Kathryn Bausman, Chuck Pierce, Jennifer LeClaire, Ken Malone, John King, Michael Kaylor, Cherrie Kaylor, and Margaret Johnson. There was another prophet who operated extremely accurately in the Word of Knowledge who laid his hands on me about 11 years ago. His name was Jim, and I don’t remember his last name.

None of them have declared anything about my prophetic office. They have declared that I would be able to see things in the spirit, that I would see with accuracy, speak for our organization, have strategies for our ministry, and basically function in the office of the prophet, but they have not used those words.

So this leaves me in ambiguity, waiting for revelation from the Lord. Why is it important to be in Prophetic Office versus just do prophetic ministry? It’s the authority that is involved. I don’t want to attempt to do something that simply isn’t my job. I don’t want to be presumptuous. I place a high value on the prophetic call, and I want to wait until I know this is confirmed.

Here are a few pieces of confirmation that I have:

  • The revelatory gifts are a way of life for me. I regularly accurately operate in word of knowledge, word of wisdom, discernment of spirits, and prophecy.
  • The ability to prophesy, have strategies, open doors, build, uproot, plant, have templates for our ministry has been prophesied over me by a person who I believe operates in an apostolic prophetic anointing.
  • The Lord is using me as a catalyst in a renewal movement.
  • Part of my vocation (and occupation) is to teach others how to hear from the Lord, release people into their callings, discern His voice, speak words of warning and correction, intercede, and things like this.
  • Other, less experienced prophetic people are now springing up all over the place in my life, needing and wanting guidance.
  • I am moved to root out, pull down, destroy, throw down, build, and plant.
  • I am involved in intense spiritual warfare with regularity.
  • I am called to walk a more narrow path than others. I know this. I feel a sense of duty to honor God’s will. I hate missteps when walking with Him.

So, do I have the keys? Am I presumptuously opening these doors? The younger prophetic people showing up in my life is a big one. This is a huge sign to me.  Every piece of confirmation is there to suggest I am already in office, operating as a prophet except for the presbytery event.

Will I just skip that part?

No.

Will I stop operating as I feel the unction to do so, in prophetic office?

No.

It’s a gray area, and I hate gray.  I am a black and white person if there ever was one.  Praying for the presbytery event.  That’s got to happen.

Published by

Urban Seer

Who I Am I am a 42-year-old living in the heart of urban South Florida. I work and live on an inner-city campus with 150 men who have committed at least a year of their lives to deal with an alcohol and/or drug addiction. At an early age, I had overwhelming, realistic dreams. These dreams resurfaced in my mid-20s. Off and on I struggled with this, not understanding how it fit into God’s plan for me. This was the case until I was finally convinced to read Blake Healy’s book, “The Veil.” Healy’s experiences mirrored mine in many ways, and I was introduced to the idea that this could be a blessing. This transparent journal is simply a chronicle of my journey in learning how to hear from the Lord with new ears, see with new eyes, how to operate prophetically in this surrounding urban culture, and how I am being mentored by the Holy Spirit in all of this. Current Focus: Learning how to unify people in love and lead strategically. Current Study: The Book of Acts. Current Ministry: Full-time ministry, counseling, worship leader, prophet, and intercessor.

Leave a comment