She Talks to Angels

I was reading a passage that an angel of the Lord spoke to Phillip saying, “Get up and go south on the road that goes from Jerusalem to Gaza…” and it really focused my thinking on Cedric. Cedric, if you’ve been following my blog, is my angel. I don’t pretend to be an expert on angels. I’m just learning about how we co-labor with angels and what their function is. But it has been revealed to me that my angel is generally dressed like an ancient warrior, maybe even Roman. His name means “Lord of the Battle,” and since I’ve become aware of his presence, I frequently call out to him if I feel I’m under spiritual attack or need assistance. We play low worship music at night to keep him entertained with the worship of the Lord while we sleep, knowing he is watching over us.

Anyway, this passage got me thinking about Cedric. He has spoken to me very clearly at times, and not as clearly at other times. At this time, I asked if he would listen to me intently. And I felt as if he was. And I heard him clearly, speaking back to me.

“Why don’t you speak to me more often and more clearly?” I said, “This angel in the Bible, he spoke extremely clearly to Phillip. I want that between us. But sometimes I’m just not aware of your presence or what you’re up to.”

I’m the first to admit I don’t know what Cedric does with all his time. Does he go over to the dormitory and help the other angels out? Does he worship most of the time and only check back in to see what is up with me occasionally? Does he get irritated with me and tired of this assignment? In which ways can I relate to his nature, and in which ways am I completely different? How can I best co-labor with the angels in our midst, especially the one to whom the Lord has given charge of me.

In my mind’s eye, I saw then a vista of a large mountainous range. Cedric was making kind of this grand, sweeping gesture towards the widow. It was unknown territory. Cedric said, “The Lord is working with you, and you are just beginning this journey. The voices you hear are going to become more specific. You will be more effective. You will hear me better.” This is the general meaning of what he was saying. In essence, it wasn’t his fault I couldn’t hear as clearly or as often as I wanted. It was simply the byproduct of not having enough experience under my belt.

I actually apologized then, “I can’t imagine how frustrating it must have been for you probably the past few years. I’ve been so ineffective and not focusing at all on really what I should have been.” I went on, “I’m not going to let that happen again, Cedric. I’m going to be much more effective, and I want to work with you, co-laboring. If anything needs to happen so you can speak to me more clearly, I will cooperate.”

Then, I felt so much joy in the atmosphere. He said, “The presence of the Lord is everywhere here. It’s very strong. I’m able to be effective here.”

Published by

Urban Seer

Who I Am I am a 42-year-old living in the heart of urban South Florida. I work and live on an inner-city campus with 150 men who have committed at least a year of their lives to deal with an alcohol and/or drug addiction. At an early age, I had overwhelming, realistic dreams. These dreams resurfaced in my mid-20s. Off and on I struggled with this, not understanding how it fit into God’s plan for me. This was the case until I was finally convinced to read Blake Healy’s book, “The Veil.” Healy’s experiences mirrored mine in many ways, and I was introduced to the idea that this could be a blessing. This transparent journal is simply a chronicle of my journey in learning how to hear from the Lord with new ears, see with new eyes, how to operate prophetically in this surrounding urban culture, and how I am being mentored by the Holy Spirit in all of this. Current Focus: Learning how to unify people in love and lead strategically. Current Study: The Book of Acts. Current Ministry: Full-time ministry, counseling, worship leader, prophet, and intercessor.

Leave a comment