One Year

One year ago today, the gift of prophecy was fanned into flame and revitalized, activating a journey that has drawn me into a new life of wonder in the Holy Spirit. This, the 40th year of my life, is the 20th anniversary of my baptism in the Holy Spirit. Today, I can articulate my God-given vocation, gifting, and anointing. Because of this, my entire outlook, self-confidence, and intimacy with the Lord has changed and grown.

Over this past year, I have learned many things. I started to write a post about all the things I’ve learned, but it was becoming much too long. Suffice it to say that He has awoken my heart, fanned the flames of passion within it, and mentored me step by loving step in this new walk with Him.

I used to crave approval from my parents and others when I was a child. After a series of bad choices in my young adult life, I lost that approval. Consequently, I had to seek God for my approval and worth, and it was life-changing. Even then, I never felt truly validated or settled, but I do now. With each and every independent confirmation of a vision, revelation of a dream, each supernatural act and intimate encounter with the Holy Spirit, I feel a life purpose like I never have before. I know without doubting that my creator, my God, my Savior loves me with a fervent, passionate, consuming love. I want to give myself to any purpose He has. I want to be in His presence and minister to the Lord. Today, it’s my highest calling.

What a year it has been. And in the last month or so, the Lord has been creating a desire within me to seek out more resources and begin to connect with the prophetic community. I hadn’t read a single internet article or facebook post about the prophetic (other than the first two books I read November 29 and 30th of last year) out of a desire to keep my personal, intimate journey with the Lord strictly with the Lord until He released me to come up under the mentoring and training of another. So I began to pray fervently that God would send people into my life who understood what I was going through. Who would not think I had some psychosis, was hyperspiritual, or attention seeking. I specifically prayed that the Holy Spirit would help me find someone within driving distance who knew anything at all about seeing in the spirit.

I suspect this next year will be full of even more surprises as I learn to walk out what He continues to pour in. I want, more than anything else, to know the heartbeat of the Lord. I want to communicate that to others, and open their ears to hear, so they can be delivered in the same way I have been. I want them to enjoy this immersive, consuming relationship with the Lord as well.

As I write this, I have zero blog followers. The stats for my blog come up every day, and there are zero viewers. Of course, no one knows about it. But it somehow fills me with joy to just see it like that. It is a great reminder to me that this journey is mine and the Lord’s. I know I will encourage many, and in the future, these posts will be important to pave the way for others in their own walk. So, at this time, the only person reading the blog is You, Lord.

And what can I say to you?

I am almost speechless. Thank You for everything You are. You are holy, worthy of all praise and honor. You give your children great gifts to be a blessing to Your body, and I am the sometimes bemused but ever grateful beneficiary of just being part of that process. I adore You. I am so excited about where You are going next year, and I want to just be right there with You. Teach me more and more what it means to lay down in the grass of Your garden with You, Lord. I am forever Yours.

Published by

Urban Seer

Who I Am I am a 42-year-old living in the heart of urban South Florida. I work and live on an inner-city campus with 150 men who have committed at least a year of their lives to deal with an alcohol and/or drug addiction. At an early age, I had overwhelming, realistic dreams. These dreams resurfaced in my mid-20s. Off and on I struggled with this, not understanding how it fit into God’s plan for me. This was the case until I was finally convinced to read Blake Healy’s book, “The Veil.” Healy’s experiences mirrored mine in many ways, and I was introduced to the idea that this could be a blessing. This transparent journal is simply a chronicle of my journey in learning how to hear from the Lord with new ears, see with new eyes, how to operate prophetically in this surrounding urban culture, and how I am being mentored by the Holy Spirit in all of this. Current Focus: Learning how to unify people in love and lead strategically. Current Study: The Book of Acts. Current Ministry: Full-time ministry, counseling, worship leader, prophet, and intercessor.

Leave a comment